Skip to content

The Coalition for Unity & Democracy became a unitary party

The newly transformed Coalition for Unity & Democracy (CUD) elected it top leaders today. The chairman and vice chairman positions, as expected, were filled by Ato Hailu Shawel and Ato Lidetu Ayalew, respectively. The two other positions, however, were big surprises. Wzt. Birtukan Mideksa, who was elected today as the 1st vice chairman, is a young lawyer who also briefly served as a judge. The secretary, Ato Muluneh Eyuel, is known to be a bright young economist.

The party’s 20-member executive committee and 60-member central committee also took over their responsibilities from the 16-member council. As of today, CUD has been transformed from a coalition of four parties into a unitary party.

The following are members of the newly formed CUD Executive Committee:

Chairman: Ato Hailu Shawel
1st Vice Chairman: Wzr. Birtukan Mideksa
Vice Chairman: Ato Lidetu Ayalew
Secretary: Ato Muluneh Eyuel

Ato Abayneh Birhanu
Ato Abdurahman Ahmedin
Ato Akalu Gergrie
Dr. Alemayehu Reta
Dr. Befikadu Degifie
Dr. Dibaba Amensisa
Ato Elala Tezera
Shaleqa Getachew Mengistu
Ato Gizachew Shiferaw
Wro Leniesil ASfaw
Ato Lidetu Ayalew
Ato Mesfin Ayalew
Dr. Mulalem Tarekegn
Ato Mushie Semu
Ato Seleshi Tena
Dr. Shimelis Tekletsdik
Dr. Yacob Hailemariam

Leave a Reply